Lifestyle

A trip down Peppercorn Avenue

Hey boos,

How is your week going? Mine has been really chill, so basically I have decided that I want to be serious again (with my blogging) kinda like I was last year and since I am not really doing anything,  I decided to bring back the blogging schedule. I will be posting three times a week now, Monday, Wednesdays and Sundays at 4 pm GMT and then “Sis say what” will be on Saturdays, only on Saturdays.

Just for clarification, I will be posting Monday, Wednesdays and Sundays and then on Saturdays “Sis say what” will be posted (that is if I have any to post)

Anyway back to the post at hand, so I know it is difficult finding a good place to eat or chill especially in Lagos where there are too many places to eat (and chill) and it can be so difficult to choose so as the helper of the people, I am making a guide to help you make better choices. Let us keep in mind that I literally know nothing about cuisine, I am not a food critic, I just like food and will try anything once (when it comes to food) so let’s just see how it goes.

Name: Peppercorn Avenue

Address: 6A Otunba Adedoyin Ogungbe Crescent, Lekki Phase 1, Lagos

Price range per plate: 2500 – 3000 Naira

I went to Peppercorn Avenue, two weeks ago I think and I actually had a really amazing time. Their parking wasn’t expansive, only enough space for about 10 cars.

The outward appearance of the place is not much to write home about, in fact I was a bit disappointed when I first laid my eyes on it. Just a big grey building with the words “Peppercorn” written on it, doesn’t sound very aesthetically pleasing does it? but the moment the nice security man opens the door for you, you begin to warm up the place.

19885671_757557557750696_167437206_o

I didn’t like the interior at first but it began to grow on me, plus it has these lush booth chairs that are white and perfect for taking pictures.

The service was really great, the waiters were really nice and attentive and the one that attended to us knew how to pronounce the thai names which I thought was really impressive.

Oh my gosh I am terrible, I forgot to say, Peppercorn Avenue is a thai and indian food restaurant. It’s a weird combination but they make sure to specify which is thai and which is indian (the menu is colour coded so you don’t make any mistakes) 

My dad and I had a lot of food which I don’t remember the names of ( because I am terrible and didn’t write them down)

The culinary experience began (oohh fancy) with some complimentary lemongrass tea and these cracker things, that you dip in the sauce. The cracker things are kind of tasteless but they’re still somehow good without the dips. The green one tastes minty (which I didn’t like), the white one was sweet and so was the brown one but the brown was like a sticky kind of sweet, again I literally don’t know what they were made of, but they were good, that is, if you like sweet things. 19875757_757558904417228_1371817836_o

As for the Lemongrass, I think I will stick with my green tea (which I don’t even like but for the sake of health). It looked really pretty though, it had the color of prosecco so it was a perfect addition for a boujie styled picture.

19897489_757558794417239_427334579_o

My dad and I ordered spring rolls as appetizers, he had vegetable and I had chicken, they were literally the biggest spring rolls I had ever seen. I don’t know about you but I’m used to thin crunchy spring rolls but these ones had a crunchy outer layer but the inside was soft (ah-may-zing), probably the best spring rolls I have ever tasted. But then it makes me wonder, are spring rolls supposed to be like this because I have never had spring rolls like those, but then again my experience with spring rolls are the ones that come from a box. 

For main course I had thai green curry with chicken and prawn noodles. 

19875969_757557561084029_467987721_o

Not only was my food drop dead gorgeous, it also tasted drop dead gorgeous. So I had eaten the curry at another thai place called Thaikhun (not in Nigeria) and the curry was spicier there and thicker so that was a little bit disappointing (it says on the menu that it’s going to be spicy but it just isn’t), the noodles were really good too, definitely not indomie noodles.

We also had garlic naan bread which I didn’t take a picture of but the naan bread was really good too, it was warm, they had an interesting twist on the naan bread but it still tasted really nice.

My dad had fish that he didn’t like because he didn’t like the sauce.

For drinks I had a mocktail called cool cat, it was really sweet (again) I feel like everything I ate was really sweet and really good and I regret nothing.

We didn’t get any dessert but I was completely stuffed so I didnt mind (too much)

I would give the place a 4.5/5 all round, we were literally the only ones there so I don’t know how service is during busy hours.

Would I go back again? Yes, so I can try out their indian menu.

Let me know your favourite restaurant in the comments below.

Have a blessed day,

Lots of love,

Gedo xx

Leave a Reply

