Sis, say what??: “puppy love” by Ehi Ebodaghe

Hey boos, 

This is Gedo and I am starting this new segment called Sis, say what?? Where great women I know come and they get an opportunity to share their opinions on whatever they want, every Saturday, it’s finna be lit. Now let’s sit back and listen to my sis tell you what’s up. 

 

Yo kids, surprise surprise, it’s not Gedo, it’s Ehi. Now before you start panicking, no she’s not been kidnapped and no she hasn’t fallen off the face of the earth. We just changing things up a lil,
Soooooo I wanna talk about young people in relationships. Just real quick. And when I say young people I don’t mean like 13 and 14 year olds because that’s not a discussion I’m willing to have…anYWAYS. I mean people within my age bracket, so like 18-25.

This whole ting hit me the other day when I was talking to my mans when he got back from work. He sounded really triggered when he started talking about his day so I asked him what was up. Since he’s the youngest at his workplace, all man’s coworkers are like 23, 24 while he’s 19. Apparently they had been talking about relationships and he was like ‘oh yeah guys, BTW I have a girlfriend now’, and they all went ‘awwww that’s so cute too bad it’s not gonna last’. They asked if I had male friends to which Ja’shon responded ‘of course’. They then actually went on to tell him that he should be careful about letting me chill with my male friends because I would probably end up cheating on him. Their argument went along the lines of ‘girls our age aren’t ready to settle down, they’re not built for monogamous relationships. It’s just not gonna work. They’ll always end up cheating because being faithful is too difficult.’ Mans was actually confounded 😂 like he was genuinely trying to figure out whether or not they were joking.
Naturally, when he told me I was shook, shooked, shooketh, and shookington. Here are these people that don’t even know me and they’re already passing judgment on my character based on what? My age and my status? Nahhhh fam. Thank God mans is an actual decent human being and was there to defend my honour haha
There are two things that irritate me most about this situation. The first one kinda piggy backs on Gedo’s last post: Women against Women (go read it if you haven’t, it’s 👌). If it was even a group of broken-hearted, single dudes spouting this rubbish, I could maybe kind of sort of understand their mindset (not to excuse the nonsense that some boys say ehn, just saying that some boys are just bitter af once they get their hearts broken). But there were WOMEN there IN MY AGE BRACKET telling him the same thing?????? Like where is the support for ya girl? Maybe it was the peer pressure from the guys or maybe they actually held those opinions. Either way, I’m so h’annoyed, and not just for myself.

By implying that all women of our age are unfaithful, that’s generalizing their own characters and morals too, innit? I’m not asking you to vouch for my character, you don’t know me like dat. But if you’re not going to give me the benefit of the doubt, don’t assume that I’m a cheater either, feel me? Don’t paint me as some insatiable creature that can’t possibly survive without more than one man. Just for the record, I was single for a hot minute and thriving, thank you very much.
The second thing is that they just assumed that because we’re youngins in a relationship, it wasn’t going to last. Wawuu the cynicism is real. I feel like hope in our generation has hella deteriorated recently, and it’s a wee bit demoralizing. It makes you feel like ‘if nobody believes in you, why even bother to put in effort?’ But I feel like this attitude actually provides us with a wonderful opportunity. An opportunity to fight back and prove all these haters wrong 😌 Obvs don’t actually physically or verbally fight them for disagreeing with you, I dont endorse that lol. But if you fight back by making your relationship work and work well, isn’t that the best way to prove them wrong?

[Disclaimer: if you’re in a relationship just because people said you couldn’t make one work, please circumcise your thoughts and replenish your goals]
Sha, that’s all I have for today. Hope you guys enjoyed my wee takeover. Till next time 😋

Have a blessed day, stay hopeful x
-Ehi

Leave a Reply

