5 Ways to introduce Ankara into your closet

Hey boos,

How have you been? It has been a while since I last posted, I have just been struggling with what to post, I just haven’t found the inspiration but this one came to me whilst I was re-reading my spring fashion post (Spring).

Ankara is a type of fabric, it is a 100% cotton with bright prints, it is primarily worn by Africans. Here is a link that goes into depth on ankara

Ankara is usually sewn into extravagant styles worn to places likes church but today I want to show you ways you can incorporate Ankara into your wardrobe whilst looking cute and casual.

  1. Ankara blouses

The trend right now, a trend that I love, are off shoulder Ankara blouses. Paired with jeans and either flats or heels, this outfit can be simple, casual and stylish yet can be dressed up by adding a statement piece.

grass_fields

2.  Ankara bags

Accessories are one of the easiest ways to incorporate new designs and colours into one’s closet. Ankara bags are not only cute and stylish, they also come in many designs and patterns making sure there is something for everybody.

Not only that Ankara bags have many colours so you can wear it with almost anything in your closet. It’s a complete win situation.

23720-50d81b-1-800x494

3. Ankara dungarees

Who doesn’t love a good pair of dungarees? Again this is something that can be dressed up or dressed down depending on the look that you are going for.

ankara-dungaree-2

4. Ankara culottes

At this point, you should already know about my unexplainable love for culottes considering I try to find a way to weave it into almost every fashion article I write. I don’t think I even need to try and convince you about this, I think these pictures say it all.

culottes

5. Ankara head bands

I feel like the head band is probably one of the most underestimated accessory in fashion. They are so useful, can’t be bothered with doing your edges? throw on a headband, want to put your hair in a pony tail but don’t want it looking clumsy? Throw on a headband.

Ankara headbands are a great way to add Ankara into your closet if you want something that’s not too bold.

il_340x270-933152786_12jp

 

I hope this has given you another idea on what to do with that Ankara fabric you have lying around in your house or how to wear Ankara in your day to day life.

Have a blessed week,

Lots of love,

Gedo xx

Leave a Reply

