Gospel Girltalk….or Guy: God doesn’t love me

Hey boos,

How are you all? I hope you’ve been having a really great week. It’s been a while since I did one of these types of posts so here we are. So today we’re going to talk about something that people seem to often struggle with and that is, the fact that God actually loves them. Even I struggle with this fact sometimes, the thought that God actually loves me and doesn’t look down on me.

I was watching this sermon jam one time by Judah Smith, I will link it here if I can ( Barabbas ). I want to talk about this because it’s something that I feel like a lot of Christians go through, not only christian teenagers but all Christians. You think how can God love me after all the sin I have done? How can Jesus love me, I’m not a good enough christian, how can God love me, I’m not good enough. I love this particular sermon jam because in it, the preacher talks about how Barabbas was set free and how Jesus took the place of Barabbas and he also says something very important, the preacher says “God loves Barabbas” and that “we are Barabbas”. Barabbas was a notorious prisoner, he had committed murder, he was clearly a sinner but no matter all his sin and no matter what his sin was, God still loved Barabbas. He sent his son, Jesus, to take his (Barabbas) place because he loved Barabbas and we are Barabbas in that, no matter what we do, how we behave, how many sins we commit, God loves us and he will always love us, we are his children.

You probably know that Jesus loves you, it’s been shoved into you, it’s in every single poster in Sunday school, it’s in songs, your parents say it, youth leaders say it, your friends probably even say it,  you know it’s true but you’re like Gedo what if I don’t feel it, what if I don’t feel that God loves me. Look babe, the fact that you’re able to read this, the fact that you’re alive to even see this is proof that God loves you. If you can feel the breeze on your face, you’re feeling God’s love. God’s love is everywhere but if you really, really don’t believe me or if my answer just isn’t good enough for you or you’re like Thomas in John 20 who wouldnt believe Jesus was actually back until he put the fingers where the nails hammered into Jesus were, if you need to feel it specially for yourself then just pray. Tell God that you want to feel his love in your heart, that you really want to feel it and then have faith and be quiet.

Once you know that God loves you, the better your life gets. Would you ever want to hurt somebody that you know loves you and you love back? The correct answer is no. So when you know that God loves you, you don’t want to sin because you don’t want to hurt God and also your self confidence and self esteem just rises because if God, the almighty God loves you for who you are then what can anyone else say?

So I hope that helped you just a little bit and if you want to see it in scripture, here are a few bible verses you can flip to

John 3:16

Zephaniah 3:17

1 Peter 5: 6-7

Romans 5:8

Have a blessed week,

Gedo xx

2 thoughts on “Gospel Girltalk….or Guy: God doesn’t love me

Leave a Reply

